Baked Potato Chips

Some days require savory, juicy burgers.  Some days require fresh, green salads.  And some days require potato chips.

Potato chips are one of my comfort foods.  While some girls may go out and get a carton of ice cream after a breakup/fight/bad day, I turn to potato chips.  Some days the salty crunch of chips makes me feel better.  If only for a few moments.

Almost a month after being laid-off I began feeling depressed and anxious.  A combination of not hearing any responses from job postings, too much free time, stressing over money, and being unable to even go for a walk (due to my broken toe) caught up with me.  At first I didn’t realize I was feeling depressed, it sneaked up on me.  I told everyone I was coping and doing fine.  I couldn’t admit to myself that I wasn’t fine so admitting it to someone else seemed too hard.

Then I got a phone interview.  It went great and we set up a face-to-face interview for the next week.  I knew I should be excited and happy.  All I felt was anxious.  What if I didn’t get the job.  What if I did and I hated it.  What if I did and loved it and then lost it.

That afternoon I made homemade potato chips.

The next day, while R was out of the house, I started crying.  All my anxiety caught up with me.  He got home and found me crying on the bed.  I finally admitted to him and to myself that I was feeling anxious about everything.

I was worried that I was a failure.  That I had failed at my old job.  That I was failing at our relationship.  That I was going to fail at the job interview.

R listened to my worries, then calmly explained that this wasn’t my fault.  It wasn’t my fault I was laid-off, just bad economy and an overall bad situation.  Our relationship wasn’t failing, finances was just putting some stress on us but we were dealing with it.  And he reminded me of my confidence and qualifications for the new job.  He reassured me that everything would work out.  We would make it work.

Everyone talks about the depression and anxiety that follows being laid-off or fired.  After the initial day or two of shock I got over it.

What I had difficulties with was the anxiety that I would be laid-off or fail again.  While I knew it may be depressing to lose your job I didn’t realize what a hit to my confidence it would be.  What I’ve realized is that I was afraid to put myself out there again.  If I stayed holed up in my apartment I wouldn’t be hurt again.  If I didn’t have a job I couldn’t lose it.

But that is part of life, we get knocked down and get back up.   I got back up.  I went to that interview and I rocked it.  I left with a big smile on my face, a skip in my step, and a job.

To celebrate I went home and made homemade potato chips.  I had earned a treat.

Baked Potato Chips
makes 1-2 servings

2 red potatoes (peeled & sliced 1/8 thick)
2 Tbsp butter (melted)
Sea Salt (to taste)

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Butter a baking sheet.  Arrange potato slices in a single layer.  Brush butter onto potato slices.  Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes, or until golden.  Sprinkle with salt.  Allow to cool.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Grace Wilfong

     /  April 4, 2012

    Although it is a hard way to learn it, “But that is part of life, we get knocked down and get back up” is an important lesson to learn and since all lives have some hard knocks them, remember this the next time and it will help you get through it. (Hard to remember at first.) Just give yourself permission to be depressed or anxious for a day or so; it’s OK. Helps to have someone like R to help you through it. Tell him thanks from us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

