Scones for a Rainy Day

Waking up to a gray, rainy day just makes me want to curl up with a warm cup of coffee, yarn and just hide away until the sun comes out again.  Since I have no desire to venture out I set myself the task of making Strawberry Scones.  Utilizing a basic scone recipe I substituted fresh diced strawberries for the currants called for in the cookbook.Fresh out of the oven then look inviting, pieces of strawberries peaking out from behind a coating of crumbly dough.

Light, flaky, crisp dough holds little pockets of moist, flavorful strawberry.  An excellent treat with coffee or tea.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grace

     /  March 31, 2011

    Once I get my oven back up and running, I’ll be making your sesame seed cookies again for the Garden Club. I got a lot of compliments on the last batch. Found a cheaper source of sesame seeds at my Indian Spice store here in Novi. $3.99 for 14 oz.

    Reply
  2. Oh boy, these scones look full of goodness and flavor. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your scones up. Feel free to also link up your yummy strawberry brownies if you want to. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-11.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

