Garlic Mushrooms on Toast

Often I do not eat at normal times.  Running shows I am usually in before dinner, but don’t leave until when most people go to sleep.  Even when I do have a more normal working schedule I still don’t seem to eat at normal times.  Years of running shows preceded by college has eliminated a sense that dinner should be at a set time every day.

I have been a grazer all my life, I prefer to eat more often and smaller portions.  This, I have heard, is better for you since it helps promote a higher metabolism.  I am a big fan of small, light meals that are easy to make, like this recipe.


I can’t remember where I first saw the idea for this recipe, but when I first started my internship this became a staple post-show meal.  Garlic sauteed in butter with tender mushrooms over toast.  Yum.  When I first started making this recipe the mushrooms were just plain, white mushrooms and the toast was white bread.  But this is an easy recipe to dress up or down, really it’s a suggestion more than a recipe.

Garlic Mushrooms on Toast

1 Garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons Butter
1 cup Mushrooms, diced
2 pieces of Bread (I prefer Rosemary Olive Oil Bread)

Melt butter in a pan over medium heat.  Add garlic and saute for 30 seconds to 1 minute.  Add mushrooms, cook for 3 minutes or until mushrooms are tender.  While mushrooms are cooking, toast bread lightly.  Pour butter, garlic & mushrooms over the toast, distributing evenly.  Enjoy!


*Hint:  Choose a pan large enough to allow the mushroom pieces to have a little space, they don’t properly brown if they are crowded.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

