Daring Bakers’ Challenge – Baklava

I am excited to be posting my first Daring Bakers’ Challenge.  This month the challenge was to make homemade baklava with handmade phyllo dough.

For my baklava filling I used walnuts, almonds, dark chocolate, and a few dashes of cinnamon and cocoa chile powder.  The result is a chocolatey, sticky, sweet baklava with nutty undertones.

First the phyllo dough.  To get good phyllo it is important to roll it super thin, the recipe said that you should be able to read newsprint through it.  Mine was not quite this thin, I think the humidity made the dough a little harder to work with.

I used the polka dots on my counter as a measure of if the dough was thin enough.  Once I could clearly see the dots and their color the dough was thin enough.

The dough was stacked on a cookie sheet.  I can not stress enough how flouring between then is important.  I don’t think I used enough flour and after I cut the phyllo the bottom of the stack stuck together and had to be carefully pulled apart.  Moral, flour a lot or stack only a few sheets together.


Layering the phyllo and filling in the pan was fairly easy.  The hardest part was getting the phyllo not to tear and to line up well.  Lots of patience if you don’t want to end up patching holes with phyllo scraps.

I halved the syrup recipe, and ended up only using 4/5 of the syrup.  I most likely could have used the whole thing, but the end product turned out delicious anyway.


It is important to let the baklava bake in the oven until it is golden brown.  My oven has it’s own mind when it comes to temperature and after 35 mintues and it still hadn’t started to turn golden I took it out.  This baklava is not as flaky and hard as other’s I’ve had, and baking it more would have added a crispness to it.

Overall I am very pleased with my first DBC and am looking forward to seeing what July has in store for us.  Go challenge yourself and see what you can bake!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. squeaky mouse

     /  June 28, 2011

    mmm…nuts and chocolate,cinnamon and chili rocks my boat!

    Reply
  2. Looks like you did a great job! I also found that my rolled dough stuck to each other…I think wax paper may solve that problem. I left mine in the oven for an hour at 325 degrees.

    Reply
  3. That is quite a challenge and I say you met it quite nicely….it looked delicious!

    Reply
  4. Wow your phyllo dough looks perfect! Great job on this challenge!

    Reply
  5. kouky

     /  June 29, 2011

    bravo pour ta réalisation!! attendons ce que nous réserve le défi du mois de juillet! bises! kouky

    Reply

Leave a Reply

