Peach Cream Pie in a Jar!

Yesterday I was bouncing around on the web and discovered the idea for pies baked in jars.  I think my brain may have exploded slightly with joy and excitement.


Oh the possibilities!  No more wishing to make a pie, but not wishing to have an entire pie sitting on my counter tempting me.  Single serving, portable pies that can easily accompany me to work.  Cute pies that can be dressed up with ribbon and a label and given as gifts.

Then my brain started pondering over the other possibilities of baked goods in a jar. Cake, cookies, cream pies, cheesecake.  Oh the possibilities!


For my first attempt I decided to go with a peach cream pie, since there were some lovely peaches at the grocery store.  I used this no-roll pie crust recipe, and just pressed the crust into the jars and formed it around the sides.

The crispness of the crust, and the warm, creamy sweetness of the peaches pairs really well with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  It’s like a little jar of summer.

I used half pint jars, which are perfect portion-sized.  However, I would suggest avoiding the tall, skinny half pint for the short, fat half pint since it was difficult to get the dough to the bottom.

Peach Cream Pie Filling
makes 6 half pint pies or one full size pie

3/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons flour
generous pinch of salt
1 cup sour cream
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups diced peaches
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Mix together sugar, flour, and salt.  Beat in sour cream, egg, and vanilla until smooth.  Stir in peaches until evenly distributed.
Pour into prepared jars or pie pan.  Bake for 20 minutes or until filling is set.  Let pie cool slightly before enjoying.
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. They look great! I love this new trend….and you’re right – it would make a great gift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

