Red Wine Everyday Cupcakes


R and I are finally having our housewarming party.  It’s only been a month and a half since we moved in and that time has included an earthquake, a hurricane, R beginning a new job, and the opening of a show at the theatre.  August and September have flown by and now I’m enjoying the cold front that has moved in and am dreaming of fall and winter foods.

This recipe are from a site that I just recently was introduced to: Smitten Kitchen.  I wish I had found this site when I first moved into my old apartment, with it’s sad amount of counter space.


These cupcakes are the first recipe I’ve tried and they are spot on.  Rich, moist, velvety.  This recipe is quickly going to become a staple when I’m craving chocolate.  I imagine you can achieve different subtle flavors by experimenting with the kind of red wine that’s incorporated.  If you have a sweet tooth, these probably won’t quite satisfy you.  But if you love rich, velvety chocolate whip up a batch of these.  Plus the powdered sugar on top makes them look so exquisite, you’re quests will be wowed, at least I hope ours are.


Head over to Smitten Kitchen for the recipe: Red Wine Chocolate Cake.  For cupcakes I suggest baking for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  I haven’t tried the mascarpone topping… yet.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. These look delicious! I’m glad they were what you were expecting! Enjoy your house warming!

    Reply
  2. muuurgh

     /  September 18, 2011

    Wish I could have made it last night to celebrate (not to mention the cupcakes sound intriguing)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

