Roasted Tomato Soup

Yum.  I kept saying this last night as I savored this delicious soup.  This soup has me thinking of curling up in blankets and sitting in front of a fire on a rainy day.  This is comfort food.

The original recipe is from Smitten Kitchen.  R and I made a few alterations.  We used our own blend of herbs: thyme, paprika, dill, and chili powder.  R also added some oil from a jar of sun-dried tomatoes.  Then I topped the bread with a 4 cheese blend.

When you pull this soup out of the oven after the broiling process the cheese and bread create a wonderful cap, trapping the flavor and warmth of the soup under it.  The roasted tomatoes give the soup a fiery sweetness that pairs wonderfully with the herbs.  The bread soaks up the flavor of the soup and really adds a nice substance to the recipe.

As we sat there, enjoying both the soup and our new kitchen table, I imagined this soup appearing on an upscale “comfort food” restaurant.  While I still love classic American cheese and the red and white can, this recipe is going to replace that staple whenever I have the extra time.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Delicious! I love homemade tomato soup and the addition of the crostini is perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

