Thanksgiving – here we go!

This week Christmas Carol goes into tech at the theatre I work for.  This week is Thanksgiving.  They overlap.

What does this mean?  Well, it means that the cast and staff all work during the day on Thanksgiving teching the show and then come evening we all get together for a big dinner in the lobby of the theatre.  It’s amazing.

Thanksgiving is possibly my favorite holiday.  Everyone gets together with friends and family, eats a lot, and enjoys everyone’s company.  No gift giving, no cards, no obligations other than showing up and enjoying good people and good food.

This year is a little different from the past 3 years I’ve been in Virginia.  This year, I’m in charge of Thanksgiving.  Part of my job is getting all the parts to come together for this holiday.  Exciting and nerve racking all at the same time.  While almost everyone brings a dish to share I will still be preparing some staples for the big day.  Such as potatoes, rolls, stuffing, and of course the turkey.  So stay tuned and I’ll keep you updated as I cook my first Thanksgiving dinner!

Send good-vibes my way if you have any to spare.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Grace Wilfong

     /  November 21, 2011

    Feel free to give me a call on the turkey, if you need any questions answered. I remember calling Grandma MacLeod the first time I had to do a turkey because I didn’t know how to make the dressing her way and all the recipes called for liquid and I knew she didn’t put any in. She used an apple and some butter to moisten it enough until the drippings from the turkey moistened the stuffing. Don’t forget to get the extra-wide aluminum foil and loosely tent it over the turkey so it doesn’t brown too soon, then remove it later. Also, I usually wrap the wingtips and bottoms of the legs in aluminum foil so they don’t get too brown. Baste once or twice an hour.

    The first time a friend of mine made a turkey, she didn’t know to remove the package of giblets from the inside.

    For soup afterwards, just put all the bones and skin in a big pot, add some celery and seasonings, bring to a boil and simmer for hours. Remove the big pieces, strain the liquid and then pick all the meat off. That will make turkey stock, just add whatever ingredients you want for soup (we like barley in the soup).

    Good luck!

    Reply
    • hiddenoffstage

       /  November 21, 2011

      Thanks so much! I’ll probably give you a call at some point with a question or two. Good to know about the apple in the stuffing, I’ll try that.

      Reply
  2. Grace Wilfong

     /  November 21, 2011

    Also, warning! If it is a frozen turkey it can take days to thaw in the refrigerator. Even “fresh” turkeys can be almost frozen in the inside.

    Reply
  3. Best of luck….you’ll do GREAT! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

