Blackberry Scones

Every morning I drive through a tunnel to get to work.  Where I live, you pretty much have to drive across a tunnel or bridge at some point.

Luckily, my route is in the opposite direction of rush hour traffic.  I really am thankful because I hate getting stuck in the tunnels.

Every morning I smile, because I’m not stuck in 7 mile back up leading to the tunnel.  Usually at that point I have “Schadenfreude” from Avenue Q running through my head.  A little cruel, I know.  But I’m thankful it’s not me because occasionally I do get stuck behind an accident in the tunnel and then all I can do is wait.

I got stuck behind a disabled vehicle in the tunnel.  Almost halfway through, traffic stopped, then reduced to one lane.  The poor guy’s car had stalled out 3/4 of the way up the ramp.

While I slowly moved through traffic I munch on one of these scones.  Crumbly scones with pops of bright blackberries in the center.  The scone on it’s own is quite tasty and buttery, oats give it a lot of substance so just one will keep you full.  It’s a great pair with coffee or tea, or just nibbled on while in traffic.

Blackberry Scones
adapted from The Joy the Baker Cookbook

1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/3 cups oats
1/3 cup sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
10 Tbsp butter, grated
3/4 cup blackberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper

Whisk together egg and buttermilk.  Set aside

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and ginger.  Using your fingers, quickly incorporate grated butter into the flour mixture.

Pour the buttermilk over the flour mixture and stir with a fork until the dough comes together.  Gently fold the blackberries into the dough.

Turn the dough unto a well floured surface.  With floured hands press the dough to 1 1/2 inches thick.  Cut into triangles or circles.

Place on lined baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes or until the tops are golden.  Transfer to cooling rack and cool for 10 minutes before serving.  Enjoy!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

